New year new degree

New year, new degree and a new WordPress theme for me.

So I finally did it! I enrolled in Uni, I am studying my beloved communications.

IMG_5589
Trying new logos out too…

My first report was delving into the many varied communication theories that have been painstakingly developed over time.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to turn this into a long boring read on theories, however I will say a few words on a theory I have already reported on* called communication accommodation theory (CAT) developed by Howard Giles.

This theory basically contends when interacting with people communicators modify their speech to accommodate others (Coupland, 2007).

In basic terms have you ever adjusted the way you speak to a baby? What about an elderly person?

I do, I raise my voice into a higher pitch when I talk to babies, and I drag out my words.

Surely we can agree this theory holds true, we all do it, don’t we? Let me know your thoughts, about the theory and / or the new theme/ logos.

 

*I got a distinction!
Coupland, N. (2007). Style: Language variation and identity. Cambridge University Press. Retrieved 8 December, 2015, from, https://books.google.com.au/books?id=oJE462b0kv4C
8 thoughts on “New year new degree

  1. Congrats on your new university career. And yes, I do adjust my speech. When talking to babies and my babies (kitties) my voice gets all high-pitched and sweet! Much lower pitched when I am lecturing in my classes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very true. I definitely raise my voice to a higher pitch for babies and kittens, and I lower/deepen my voice to speak to my boys when they’re in trouble. I know some people who also slow down their speech and raise their voice (not in pitch but volume) when speaking to someone of a different dialect…as if the louder volume helps that person to hear more clearly. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcome here...

