Koala spotting – can you see her?

Last month we visited Port Stephens, a lovely sea side town in New South Wales, Australia. One of the reasons I was interested in going there was to see koalas in the wild, something I have never seen before.

There is a koala feeding and resting habitat there called Tilligerry Habitat. We arrived at the habitat’s souvenir shop to pick up our free map of the reserve, then headed out on the 45 minute walk. The map had two red spots marking the locations of the most recent koala sightings.

Tilligerry nature reserve

The walk was stunning, with pretty wooden paths winding through huge trees however we didn’t see any koalas. We walked back to the souvenir shop and they told us of a koala living near the local police station, so we headed that way.

We arrived at the police station and parked under a gorgeous big gum tree. I started following a path towards a mini forest. It was a lovely green area, a setting where I thought for sure our mystery koala would be living. My husband and our daughter stayed behind at the big gum tree, certain that there was a reason a bucket of water sat at the base of the tree.

As I walked the windy path observing the lovely big trees with my two sons, they decided they would race back to where their Dad was, unmoved at the large gum tree. My daughter caught up to me and spotted eight or more rainbow lorikeets that she had to photograph, and as she started my youngest son was motioning excitedly at me to return, to the original big gum tree.

Photo courtesy of flickr.com
Photo courtesy of flickr.com
There are lorikeets in this photo taken by my wonderful daughter
There are lorikeets in this photo taken by my wonderful daughter

High up in the tree was a beautiful, soft and cuddly looking, sleeping koala .

Right above our original parking spot!

The beautiful koala in her own habitat. Can you see her?
The beautiful koala in her own habitat. Can you see her?
8 thoughts on “Koala spotting – can you see her?

Your thoughts are welcome here...

