I know we just met but how ‘bout a kiss Mr Blarney?

There is a magical stone in Ireland where legend says if you kiss it you will be bestowed with the gift of eloquence. I had to have that gift (it would sure make life easier, right?), so we drove from Dublin down to Cork to be near the Blarney Castle, home of the Blarney Stone.

There are many tales on how the stone came to be, my favourite is that the Irish Lord of Blarney needed to address the Queen of England to keep his land. The Lord was set to fail as he wasn’t eloquent, however he was told that Blarney Castle had a stone in a place so high it was said no one would ever be able to touch it. If he managed to kiss the stone he would be bestowed with the gift of eloquence. Of course he did it, and the rest is history (or is that folklore?).

The Castle was beautiful, there were lots of stairs to get to the top, going round and round, up some uneven grounds and funny slopes through stunning stone work. There were thin walkways in some parts and low heights so maybe leave the high heels at home.

When we got to the top we could kiss the stone. It was a little bit scary but exhilarating at the same time. You have to lean backwards on the floor but there are wonderful people right there to help you and before you know it you have kissed the stone, just like I did. So now I have the gift of the gab! Yay!

Oh, and for my American friends – I was waiting to get a coffee (yes, even at the Blarney Stone) and there were three American ladies in front of me. One was reading the menu and she said “what is a flat white, I don’t even know what that is”. I didn’t say anything as she wasn’t addressing me, but I was surprised! It was my favourite coffee at the time, and I’ve since looked it up – it originated in Australia – let me know if you enjoy them in America, I’m curious.

The above was from my personal archives September 2011.

13 thoughts on “I know we just met but how ‘bout a kiss Mr Blarney?

Your thoughts are welcome here...

