What mindfulness looks like when you drive

Mindfulness has been described as:

The awareness that emerges through paying attention on purpose, in the present moment, and non-judgmentally (Jon Kabat-Zinn, 2003).

alaska-road
Photo courtesy of pixabay.com

When I first stumbled upon mindfulness I decided to test it out while driving.

The result was pretty cool, I saw a building I must have driven past several times without noticing its existence!

I wrote a post about my experience and submitted it to a fantastic mindfulness website. To read the post in full click on the following link: ‘Driving the moment’.

It gets easier every day.





The linked post was the first post I ever wrote and I was very excited when www.everyday-mindfulness.org published my post on their website.

Let me know your thoughts below, do you practice mindfulness, if so do you practice while you drive? Any tips?

16 thoughts on “What mindfulness looks like when you drive

  1. Hmm. When driving, we often listen to an audiobook (homeschooling = carschooling, a lot of times!) or to my son’s Suzuki cello music. Usually, I maintain a good balance between looking at the road and listening to the story, but I feel sure that this isn’t “mindfulness.” I assume that mindfulness means no listening to the radio?

    Like

    1. Hi Sandi, good question! Since mindfulness is paying attention to the present moment (including sights, sounds, smells, etc) I didn’t want to get distracted (or drown out the sounds of the drive itself), so for me it was easier to turn the radio off.
      I don’t think this means you can’t drive mindfully while listening to something though (please correct me if I’m wrong!). Listening to your son’s music or audiobooks sounds great!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I try to focus on the road, my speed, what is around me, outside the car. The car and I, on a good day, are one. Not sure this is mindfulness, but as long as everything works together, it is good.

    Like

  3. Being truly mindful takes an extra effort, I believe, and often, we just let our minds wander. So, when I actually make the effort to be mindful, especially while driving, I am always amazed at what I find (like your little red building). Thank you for reminding me to take more moments to exercise mindfulness once again. 🙂 Love your blog!

    Like

  4. There are many moments where I practice mindfulness when spending time with my children. I admit to being pretty bad at it in other areas of life, especially driving. What a great idea! I am going to give it a try!

    Like

  5. I do this same thing when I drive (if I remember). I find it very helpful to keep me present. Plus, it takes me longer to put words to what I am experiencing than to notice it so it slows me down. Sometimes I start noticing with my third eye too but I can’t concentrate to drive and notice that information. Maybe other people can. That would be my only tip. Stick to one plane until you know you can do more than one simultaneously! Haha!

    I love this post. This is my go-to method for being present because it’s practical and simple. And shows me so quickly how fast my monkey mind wanders.

    Thank you for reminding me!

    Like

Your thoughts are welcome here...

