If I label you will you go away?

I have been practising a new mindfulness meditation technique called ‘labelling‘.

Its purpose is to label an unhelpful thought immediately to reduce stress, and it is so easy and effective.

photo via @unsplash

Our minds are so active and they are continuously chattering away, telling us this that and the other, often creating worries and drama where none exist!  For those of us who suffer from the stress and anxiety our minds conjure this technique can work wonders.

 

The process is as simple as completing the following process when you have an unhelpful thought:

  1. Notice the thought.
  2. Label the thought.  “It’s just worry.”
  3. Change the subject.
  4. Repeat from step one as many times as necessary.

Try it next time you have a thought that is causing you worry or stress.

I have been using it lately whenever I notice myself thinking unhelpful thoughts. It doesn’t matter if you have to do it over and over, twenty times in five minutes or five days, keep doing it and reap the rewards!

It gets easier every day.

lillipad
photo via @unsplash
10 thoughts on “If I label you will you go away?

  1. I’m gonna have to keep this in mind for next time! Mindfulness is an easy practice when there’s not much to worry about (like summer break) but once the semester starts and I’m so much more pressed for time and the thoughts just start piling on I’m like “why isn’t all the mindfulness I was practiced this summer working any more?!” obviously not the right way to go about it haha. I’m trying to practice the mindfulness and meditation as much as I can, and I’m always interested in new ideas so I’m glad I found your blog 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  2. This post sounds straight from Chapter 4 of Ezra Bayda’s book Being Zen – Bringing Meditation to Life.
    If you haven’t read it, you might like to follow this up.

    I found his book very helpful when I was going through a difficult phase near the end of my working life in 2009. Each time I faced a new difficulty, a fresh chapter in this book seem to point me on the right path.

    Can’t remember now, but I think it was Ezra Bayda who put me on the path of Living Mindfully.

    Like

Your thoughts are welcome here...

